East Jerusalem

Al Aqsa MosqueEast Jerusalem is the capital of the State of Palestine.  The State of Israel did not delineate or specify Jerusalem as its capital in its declaration of independence, and conquered the city shortly thereafter. The government of Israel declared Jerusalem to be under Israeli occupation in its announcement of 12 Aug 1948.  Israel seized East Jerusalem during the 1967 war, in which it completed its occupation of all Palestinian land. Israel unilaterally expanded the boundaries of Jerusalem by annexing some 70 sq kms to the municipal boundaries of the West Bank area and evicting over 6,000 Palestinians from the Old City’s Mughrabi Quarter in order to create a plaza in front of Al-Buraq (the Western Wall).  Israel then declared Jerusalem its capital. The annexation of East Jerusalem was declared illegal by UN Security Council Res. 252 (1968) of 21 May 1968, which “Deplores the failure of Israel to comply with” General Assembly resolutions 2253 and 2254, considers Israel’s annexation of Jerusalem “invalid”, and calls upon Israel “to rescind all such measures already taken and to desist forthwith from taking any further action which tends to change the status of Jerusalem.”

Palestinians living in East Jerusalem have ‘residency’ in Israel but no citizenship, as it is not legitimately inside the territorial boundaries of the State of Israel. Furthermore, Palestinians in East Jerusalem suffer lack of infrastructure, including water, which they have been without for months now, and face encroachment from illegal Israeli Jewish colonists as well as so-called archeological digs – attempts by Israel to prove some historical attachment to Jerusalem.

If the truth offends, stop living the lie. Truth is necessary to understand and decide accordingly

%d bloggers like this: